7 Wonders Duel Review

I considered starting with my favorite game, Castles of Mad King Ludwig, but I think it’s more appropriate to start with the two player version of my husbands favorite game.

It is so hard to find a good two player game. A lot of the time I’m playing games with just my husband. Whether it’s just for fun, to help get me out of a depressive funk, or calm my hypomania, playing with only two people is a huge part of my gaming experience.

If you’ve ever played 7 Wonders then I can tell you this game does an excellent job of keeping with the theme and the feel of the original game. I’ll also tell you that the drafting part is now limited to wonder selection.

For those who haven’t played either game, let me explain. 7 Wonders is a drafting game. This means that everyone has a hand of cards, you all take your turns at the same time and pick a card from your hand, you pass the hand to your neighbor and go again. You might be able to see why that wouldn’t work with two players. So how is 7 Wonders Duel different?

First you only draft, face up, the four wonders you’ll use that game. (A wonder is something specific to you that you build in game by sacrificing your turn and a card to get a helpful bonus.)  Then you set up the first age in a solitaire game looking triangle with some cards visible and some cards not. Your turn is taking a card to play or sacrifice fro gold or a wonder. Pretty simple right?  Not so much if you take into account that you need resources and each card costs something that you must have on your board (like 7 Wonders).


How do you win?  By getting the most victory points. Or by playing more military than your opponent. Or by playing one of each science symbol.  Victory point win is most common but I’ve seen both the others happen. I was rather proud of myself the time I won by science, it was really hard.

Anyway, I definetly recommend this game if you need a good two player game in your life. It has great playability, the artwork is extreamly thematic, the box insert is one of the best I’ve ever seen, and the expansion adds enough that you’ll never get bored of it.

Wait, there’s an expansion?

Why yes, yes there is. Let me introduce 7 Wonders Duel: Pantheon which, believe it or not, adds a pantheon of gods.


The gods each give you special powers, if you sacrifice a turn and some gold to get them. It also adds Mythology tokens and Grand Temple Cards which replace the Guilds (point bonuses) from the original game. The more Grand Temples you have the more points you get. You can buy these in Age (round) III using a crazy amount of resources or a specific Mythology Token that you got in Age I.


You could play with one or both mechanics. I wouldn’t recomend leaving out the Grand Temples! And at that point it seems a bit silly to me not to add the gods. So yes, I recomend the expansion as well. It makes the game a bit more rounded.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you right now. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. And please, recomend games I should review! I want to give you what you want to see.

Leave a Reply

