Deception Game Day

On the Board Gaming Facebook group for my area there was a call out to anyone who wanted to participate in playing deception games.  Several people responded positively, including me, and so the first event happened today.

If you’re wondering what a deception game is you’re in luck.  It’s a game where you don’t know what anyone else around you is doing.  This is usually accomplished by hidden roles (like if you’ve ever played Werewolf or Mafia) or it can just be a bluffing game (like Bull[shit]).  If you’ve never played any of my example games the main thing you should take away is it’s a game where you lie about who you are or what you have.

Normally I’d be stoked about getting together to play deception games.  After all, I signed up for this weeks ago and my husband was able to come too!  But today I had a bit of a problem.  I’ve been forgetting to take my pills.  Yesterday, and this morning, I was hypomanic.  I cleaned the upstairs bathroom.  I cleaned my daughter’s extremely messy room.  I did the dishes.  I did four loads of laundry including folding and most of the putting away.  I watched my friend’s two children as well as my three.  My back aches something crazy.  I fell and hurt my leg to the point it hurts to walk.  I kept going.  I didn’t sleep much.

I didn’t want to deprive myself or my husband of this opportunity.  I went anyway.  I mentioned in my initial post that I can get hypomanic about board games.  I’m not this time.  But I still enjoyed myself until I crashed.

I mentioned earlier, in a parenthesis, a game called Werewolf.  If you’ve never heard of this game but you’ve heard of Mafia you already know what it is.  If you don’t know either game I’ll give you a bit of an explanation.  It’s a game where each person is secretly given a role.  It could be on the Villager team or the Werewolf team.  If the Villagers kill off all the Werewolves they win.  If the Werewolves become the majority of players they win.  The Werewolves know who each other are.  The Villagers don’t know who anyone else is.

I’m bringing up this game because it was during the group’s third play through that I crashed.  I was a Werewolf.  My other two teammates were dead.  I was all alone.  I’d been shaking my leg up and down all afternoon.  It stopped.  I was crashing down from my hypomania.  I made the leg start back up again because I didn’t want it to be suspicious.  My children were starting to act up in the background.  One of the Villagers says “I think it’s her.  She looks nervous.”

I’m in the spotlight now.  There’s no turning back.  The only excuse I had was my children.  I wan’t going to tell them it was because of my bipolar disorder.  After all, I was on the Werewolf team.  I was the person they were trying to find.  Maybe that was why I looked nervous.  But I had fooled them all earlier in a different game.

I guess I’ll never actually know if I lost that game due to my children, my disorder, or if I was nervous about being the last one standing.  Maybe it was a combination of all three.  But what I do know is I lost.

I failed.

But that’s ok.

Leave a Reply

